Oscars 2018: The 90th Academy Awards Winners and Nominees

Written by on 9 March 2018

The Oscars has come and gone again for another year. The 90th annual Academy Awards took place this past Sunday and the battle between, The Shape Of Water (13 nominations), and Dunkirk (8 nominations) commenced.

Oscar winners of 2018 (left to right): Sam Rockwell, Frances McDormand, Allison Janney, and Gary Oldman

We saw the likes of Frances McDormand win best actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, and British actor Gary Oldman win best actor in his magnificent portrayal of Winston Churchill, in Darkest Hour.

The Shape Of Water came out on top at the Oscars, taking away four Academy Awards, including the most prestigious award of the night, Best Film.

Frances McDormand accepting Best Actress for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Frances McDormand made an exceptional speech on collecting her award for best actress, and impelled all the female nominees to stand up with her, making it one of the most influential and compelling speeches of the night;

“I want to give some perspective. If I may be so honoured to have all the female nominees in every category stand with me in this room tonight. The actors—Meryl, if you do it everyone else will—the filmmakers, the producers, the directors, the writers, the cinematographers, the composers, the songwriters, the designers. Come on!”

“Look around, ladies and gentlemen, because we all have stories to tell and projects we need financed,” McDormand said.

“Don’t talk to us about it at the parties tonight – invite us into your office in a couple of days, or you can come to ours, whatever suits you best – and we’ll tell you all about them.”

Watch the full speech here:

Here are all of the winners and nominees from this year’s 90th Academy Awards:

Best picture

Winner: The Shape of Water

Call Me By Your Name

Darkest Hour


Get Out

Lady Bird

Phantom Thread

The Post

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best actress

Winner: Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water

Margot Robbie – I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Meryl Streep – The Post

Best actor

Winner: Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour

Timothee Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name

Daniel Day-Lewis – Phantom Thread

Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out

Denzel Washington – Roman J Israel, Esq

Best supporting actress

Winner: Allison Janney – I, Tonya

Mary J Blige – Mudbound

Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread

Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird

Octavia Spencer – The Shape of Water

Best supporting actor

Winner: Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project

Woody Harrelson – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Richard Jenkins – The Shape of Water

Christopher Plummer – All the Money in the World

Best director

Winner: The Shape of Water – Guillermo Del Toro

Dunkirk – Christopher Nolan

Get Out – Jordan Peele

Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig

Phantom Thread – Paul Thomas Anderson

Best adapted screenplay

Winner: Call Me By Your Name – screenplay by James Ivory

The Disaster Artist – screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H Weber

Logan – screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; story by James Mangold

Molly’s Game – written for the screen by Aaron Sorkin

Mudbound – screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees

Best original screenplay

Winner: Get Out – written by Jordan Peele

The Big Sick – written by Emily V Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani

Lady Bird – written by Greta Gerwig

The Shape of Water – screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; story by Guillermo del Toro

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – written by Martin McDonagh

Best foreign language film

Winner: A Fantastic Woman (Chile)

The Insult (Lebanon)

Loveless (Russia)

On Body and Soul (Hungary)

The Square (Sweden)

Best original song

Winner: Remember Me – Coco (Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez)

Mighty River – Mudbound (Mary J Blige, Raphael Saadiq & Taura Stinson)

The Mystery of Love – Call Me By Your Name (Sufjan Stevens)

Stand Up for Something – Marshall (Common & Diane Warren)

This Is Me – The Greatest Showman (Benji Pasek & Justin Paul)

Best original score

Winner: The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat

Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer

Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood

Star Wars: The Last Jedi – John Williams

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Carter Burwell

Best animated feature

Winner: Coco

The Boss Baby

The Breadwinner


Loving Vincent

Best documentary feature

Winner: Icarus


Faces Places

Last Men in Aleppo

Strong Island

Best cinematography

Winner: Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins

Darkest Hour – Bruno Delbonnel

Dunkirk – Hoyte van Hoytema

Mudbound – Rachel Morrison

The Shape of Water – Dan Laustsen

Best costume design

Winner: Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges

Beauty and the Beast – Jacqueline Durran

Darkest Hour – Jacqueline Durran

The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira

Victoria and Abdul – Consolata Boyle

Best make-up and hairstyling

Winner: Darkest Hour – Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski & Lucy Sibbick

Victoria and Abdul – Daniel Phillips & Lou Sheppard

Wonder – Arjen Tuiten

Best production design

Winner: The Shape of Water – production design by Paul Denham Austerberry; set decoration by Shane Vieau and Jeff Melvin

Beauty and the Beast – production design by Sarah Greenwood; set decoration by Katie Spencer

Blade Runner 2049 – production design by Dennis Gassner; set decoration by Alessandra Querzola

Darkest Hour – production design by Sarah Greenwood; set decoration by Katie Spencer

Dunkirk – production design by Nathan Crowley; set decoration by Gary Fettis

Best visual effects

Winner: Blade Runner 2049 – John Nelson, Gerd Nefzer, Paul Lambert & Richard R Hoover

Guardian of the Galaxy Vol 2 – Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner & Dan Sudick

Kong: Skull Island – Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza & Mike Meinardus

Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Neal Scanlan & Chris Corbould

War for the Planet of the Apes – Joe Letteri, Daniel Barrett, Dan Lemmon & Joel Whist

Best film editing

Winner: Dunkirk – Lee Smith

Baby Driver – Paul Machliss & Jonathan Amos

I, Tonya – Tatiana S Riegel

The Shape of Water – Sidney Wolinsky

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Jon Gregory

Best sound editing

Winner: Dunkirk – Richard King and Alex Gibson

Baby Driver – Julian Slater

Blade Runner 2049 – Mark Mangini and Theo Green

The Shape of Water – Nathan Robitaille and Nelson Ferreira

Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Matthew Wood and Ren Klyce

Best sound mixing

Winner: Dunkirk – Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker and Gary A Rizzo

Baby Driver – Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin and Mary H Ellis

Blade Runner 2049 – Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill and Mac Ruth

The Shape of Water – Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern and Glen Gauthier

Star Wars: The Last Jedi – David Parker, Michael Semanick, Ren Klyce and Stuart Wilson

Best animated short

Winner: Dear Basketball

Garden Party


Negative Space

Revolting Rhymes

Best live action short

Winner: The Silent Child

DeKalb Elementary

The Eleven O’Clock

My Nephew Emmet

Watu Wote/All of Us

Best documentary short

Winner: Heaven Is a Traffic Jam on the 405

Edith + Eddie


Knife Skills

Traffic Stop

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track